Preface

The Twelfth Symposium on Thermophysical Properties was held at the University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado, U.S.A., on June 19–24, 1994. The symposium was organized by the Standing Committee on Thermophysical Properties of the Heat Transfer Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and was sponsored by the Thermophysics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology.

The symposium, the twelfth in the well-established series of conferences held since 1959, brought together papers representing current state-of-the-art research on both theoretical and experimental aspects of thermophysical properties of matter in solid, liquid, and gaseous states.

The symposium was organized somewhat differently from the preceding ones. In a dozen areas of great scientific and technological interest, experts were asked to organize special sessions, to propose key speakers, to encourage presentation of contributed papers, and to organize the reviewing process for contributors in their respective areas. The symposium also included demonstrations of computerized databases and a panel discussion on refrigerants. It featured the presentation of the Yeram S. Touloukian Award by the ASME Heat Transfer Division to J. Kestin (posthumously) and G. K. White.

The symposium had a record attendance of close to 400 scientists and engineers from 30 countries. Over 400 papers were presented and over half of them were from countries other than the United States, which reflected the truly international character of the symposium.

The proceedings of the symposium are being published as special issues of this journal, and this issue is the first in the series; other papers will appear in subsequent issues. Selection of the papers for publication is based on the established journal policy of favorable independent reviews by referees.

It is a pleasure to acknowledge the expertise and dedication of the many individuals who contributed to the successful organization of the symposium and to the preparation of the proceedings. Among these are the authors and invited speakers, the chairs of the special and regular sessions, the referees of the papers, the members of the local arrangements

1012 Preface

committee, and the members of the Standing Committee on Thermophysical Properties. We acknowledge the support of the Chief of the Thermophysics Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the competence, dedication, and cooperation of the secretarial staff of this Division.

> J. M. H. Levelt Sengers A. Cezairliyan Chairs of the 12th Symposium on Thermophysical Properties